Appointments galore: 14 chief executives in Trade & Investment Ministry, 12 FERMA Board members, Onanuga, others


By Abdullahi Mohammed, Abuja

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of new Chief Executive Officers 14 agencies and parastatals under the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment. 

Special Adviser to the President Media and Publicity Chief Ajuri Ngelale said in a statement in Abuja that the appointments were in line with the President’s resolve to base Nigeria’s economic revival on the foundation of trade expansion through small, medium and large scale industry facilitation in the country. 

The new appointees are Hussaini Ishaq Magaji, Corporate Affairs Commission; Afiz Ogun Oluwatoyin, Industrial Training Fund (ITF); Kamar Bakrin, National Sugar Development Council (NSDC); and Olufemi Ogunyemi, Nigeria Export Processing Zone Authority (NEPZA). 

Others are Nonye Ayeni, Nigeria Export Promotion Council (NEPC); Aisha Rimi, Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission (NIPC); Bamanga Usman Jada, Oil and Gas Free Zone Authority (OGFZA); Charles Odii, Small and Medium Enterprises Development Agency of Nigeria (SMEDAN); and Ifeanyi Chukwunonso Okeke, Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON). 

Others include Rabiu Olowo, Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria (FRCN), Anthony Atuche, Nigeria Commodities Exchange (NCE); Veronica Safiya Ndanusa, Lagos International Trade Fair Complex (LITFCMB); Lucia Shittu, Tafawa Balewa Square Management Board (TBSMB); and Oluwemimo Joseph Osanipin, National Automotive Design and Development Council (NADDC). 

The President said he expects the new appointees to optimally deliver in accordance with new key performance indicating benchmarks as established by the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment.

…Appoints new Board, management for FERMA

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of the Governing Board and Management team of the Federal Roads Maintenance Agency (FERMA) for a renewable term of four (4) years, in accordance with Section 2(3) of the FERMA Amendment Act, 2007:

Chairman of FERMA Board — Engr. Imam Ibrahim Kashim Imam

Managing Director of FERMA — Engr. Chukwuemeka Agbasi

Member (NARTO) — Yusuf Lawal Othman

Member (FMW) — Engr. Ibi Terna Manasseh

Member (FRSC) — ACM Shehu Mohammed

Member (Finance) — Babatunde Daramola-Oniru

Member (South-South) — Hon. Preye Oseke

Member (South-West) — Hon. Oye Ojobe 

Member (South-East) — Dr. Kenneth Ugbala

Member (North-Central) — Sen. Timothy Adudu

Member (North-East) — Engr. Abubakar Bappa

Member (North-West) — Aminu Adamu Papa

…and new media aides, Onanuga, Bulus Yakubu

As part of efforts to prioritize effective and efficient working synergy between the Presidency and Federal Ministries, President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointments of professionals who have prior working experience within the architecture of the Federal Ministries they will be coordinating with, in addition to duties that will be carried out at the President’s discretion:

Special Adviser to the President on Information & Strategy — Mr. Bayo Onanuga

Senior Special Assistant to the President on Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation — Ms. Delu Bulus Yakubu