AFRIMMA: Fally Ipupa, Kcee, Spyro, others win big in US


It was another rewarding night for musical talents at the glamorous 10th edition of the African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) held last weekend in Dallas, Texas, United States.

While Congolese singer/songwriter Fally Ipupa bagged two diadems, including the Lifetime Achievement Award and Best Francophone Award; his Nigerian counterparts Kcee and Spyro won the Legendary Award and Best Collaboration Award respectively.Ezoic

The show, which was held at Dallas Symphony Center, had a large turnout of guests from different parts of the world. Hosted by Nancy Isime and Nadia Nakai, guests were treated to musical performances by Blaqbonez, Spyro, Odumodu Blvck, Mike Kalambay, Kcee, King Promise and Fally Ipupa among others.

Awardees include Rema – Artist of the Year; Ms DSF, Best DJ Africa; DJ Freshy K – Best African DJ USA; Maajabu, Music Producer of the Year; Toofan – Best African Group; Davido (Timeless), AFRIMMA Album of the Year; and Timaya, AFRIMMA Legendary Award.Ezoic

Other winners are Mike Kalambay – Best Gospel; Flavour – Best Live Act; Blaqbonez – Nigeria Best Male Rap Act; Ayra Starr – Best Female West Africa; Diamond Platnumz – Best Male East Africa; Nadia Mukami – Best Female East Africa; Fabregas – Best Male Central Africa; AKA – Best Male Southern Africa; Nadia Nakai – Best Female Southern Africa; Odumodu Blvck – Best Newcomer and King Promise – Best Male West Africa.

Speaking at the event, AFRIMMA’s founder and CEO of Big A Entertainment, Anderson Obiagwu, said the vision behind the show is to continually celebrate and showcase Africa’s unique talents to the world.

AFRIMMA 2023 winners:

Best Male West Africa – King Promise

Best Female West Africa – Ayra Starr

Best Male East Africa – Diamond Platinumz 

Best Female East Africa – Nadia Mukami 

Best Male Central Africa – Fabregas

Best Female Central Africa – Libianca

Best Male Southern Africa – AKA

Best Female Southern Africa – Nadia Nakai 

Best Male North Africa – DJ Snake

Best Female North Africa – Ruby

Crossing Boundaries with Music Award – Rema

Best Newcomer – Odumodublvck

Artist of The Year – Rema

Best Gospel – Mike Kalambay

Best Live Act – Flavour 

Best Female Rap Act – Askia 

Best Male Rap Act – Blaqbonez

Best Collaboration – Spyro and Tiwa Savage – Who’s Your Guy?Ezoic

Song of The Year – Davido ft. Musa Keys Unavailable

Best Video Director – Director Pink

Best Dj Africa – Ms DSF

Best African DJ USA – DJ Freshy K

AFRIMMA Video of The Year – Fally Ipupa ft. Charlotte Dipanda/Garde Du Couer

Music Producer of The Year – Maajabu Gospel

Best African Dancer – Ghetto Kids

Best Lusophone – Mr Bow

Best Francophone – Fally Ipupa

Best Reggea/Dancehall – Patoranking

Radio/TV Personnel of The Year – Ebuka

Best African Group – Toofan

AFRIMMA Album of The Year – Davido

AFRIMMA Lifetime Achievement Award – Fally Ipupa

AFRIMMA Legendary Award – Kcee

AFRIMMA Lifetime Achievement Award – Timaya