Breaking: 35-year-old PDP’s candidate sends Speaker out of Yobe house of assembly


A 35-year-old candidate of the Peoples Democratic party (PDP) for Nguru II Constituency Lawan Musa has been announced winner of Saturday’s house of assembly election.

Musa beat the incumbent Speaker Yobe State House of Assembly, Ahmed Mirwa Lawan.

The Speaker has been in the house since 2003 when he was elected as House member under All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) till date.

The Returning Officer of the election, Dr Habib Muhammad, who announced the results said Musa scored 6,648 votes to narrowly defeat Yobe’s Speaker of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 6,466 votes.

He said other candidates of African Democratic Congress (ADC) and New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) secured 3,023 and 14 votes respectively.