Nigerian Idol: A Peep at the Songs top 12 Contestants will Perform at First Live Show


With Theatre Week over, the spotlight beamed on the Top 12 contestants of the seventh season of Nigeria’s popular music talent show, Nigerian Idol.

The contestants would take on the task of performing to impress the judges – D’banj, Obi Asika and Simi – as well as the viewing fans at home.

Sunday, March 20, 2022, is the day for the first LIVE performances of the season, and there is a lot to play for.

Here’s a sneak peek at the songs the Top 12 are going to be performing.

Abigail – Rain On Me

Abigail will be performing Lady Gaga’s single ‘Rain On Me’ which was released in 2020 from her Chromatica album.

Banty – Thinking Out Loud

Banty is going to be loud in her thoughts as she performs Ed Sheeran’s ‘Thinking Out Loud’. The single was one of the viral tracks from Ed Sheeran’s second album X.

David Operah – Before You Go

David Operah will be performing Lewis Capaldi’s ‘Before You Go’. The single is from Lewis’ 2019 album Divinely Uninspired To a Hellish Extent.

Debby – Monalisa

Debby is going to be keeping it fresh with the hit Naija tune ‘Monalisa’ by Lojay and Sarz from the album LV N ATTN.

Faith – Driver’s License

Faith is going to be in the driver’s seat of her performance as she dishes the tune to Olivia Rodrigo’s “Driver’s License” from the album Sour.

Gerald – Leave The Door Open

Gerald will definitely try to give a silky smooth performance of Silk Sonic’s ‘Leave The Door Open’ from the album An Evening With Silk Sonic.

Itohan – Shallow

Itohan will be performing the song ‘Shallow’ by Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga which comes from the original soundtrack of the movie A Star is Born.

Joel – Easy On Me

Joel is going to be taking things easy as he performs Adele’s ‘Easy On Me’ from her album 30.

Jordan – Rolling In The Deep

Jordan will also be rolling with Adele this Sunday as he performs her smash hit ‘Rolling in The Deep’ from the album 21.

Precious – Felony

Even though she isn’t a felon, Precious will be rocking the stage with CKay’s single ‘Felony’ from his EP Boyfriend.

Progress – Heartbreak Anniversary

Progress will be giving it his all on stage with Giveon’s 2020 single ‘Heartbreak Anniversary’ from the EP Take Time.

Zadok – Perfect

Another Ed Sheeran single will be performed on stage thanks to Zadok, who will be singing the song ‘Perfect’ from Ed’s 2017 album Divide.

The incredible journey continues daily on the Nigerian Idol Extra channel on DStv 197 and GOtv 29.