FG to restore tenure policy for directors, perm secs


The Federal government is to restore the tenure policy for Directors and Permanent Secretaries in the revised Public Service Rule PSR, to compulsory retirement upon serving eight years on the post.

The Head Service of the Federation Dr. Folashade Yemi Esan made this known at the opening ceremony of the 2020/2021 meetings of the separate and Joint National Public Service Negotiating Council in Abuja.

The meeting was an interface between the government and the labour unions to examine critical matters bordering on the welfare and conditions of service of workers in the public service for optimal performance.

The Head Civil Service of the Federation said “the restoration of the Tenure Policy in the revised PSR, a Director or its equivalent by whatever nomenclature shall compulsorily retire upon serving eight years on the post; and a Permanent Secretary shall hold office for a term of four years which is renewable for a further term of four years, subject to satisfactorily performance and no more.”

Source: Radionigeriaabuja.gov.ng.